28th July 2020

Preview: Ginetta Junior Championship, Round One, Donington Park

With 16 of the top 20 drivers from 2019 moving onto pastures new, there’s an exciting new look to the Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship grid this season.

Including the season ending Winter Series’, Elite Motorsport have won the last five consecutive Ginetta Junior drivers’ titles and they are aiming to continue their winning streak and make championship history in the process by taking a rookie driver to the overall title for the first time.

Tom Lebbon will line-up with them as the latest winner of the Ginetta Junior Scholarship, which has previously launched the careers of Jamie Chadwick and Daniel Harper amongst others. The Suffolk racer beat over 60 other drivers to win a fully-funded season in the championship.

Fellow Scholarship finalists Tommy Pintos and Sebastian Hopkins join him at Elite, as do karting graduates William Vincent and Josh Miller. William Aspin meanwhile will be back on the grid after making a one-off debut at Snetterton last season.

The leading championship returnees from 2019 are going to be team-mates at R Racing this season; Joel Pearson, Josh Rattican, Bailey Voisin and Freddie Tomlinson. Alongside them in an expanded five car entry will be rookie talent Aston Millar.

Pearson and Rattican both finished in the top ten of the standings last year, having secured an impressive ten and eight rookie class podium finishes respectively, while a strong end to the season for Voisin included a first piece of rookie silverware at Brands Hatch.

Millar is heading into his first full campaign after starring with a fifth place finish during a three-event spell in the main series, before being crowned the Winter Series Rookie champion. Tomlinson meanwhile switches to the team for his second season in the series.

Joining Elite in entering a rookie only line-up this season are 11-time race-winners from 2019, Richardson Racing. Their trio of karting graduates include Georgi Dimitrov and Trennon Bettany, both of whom were finalists in last year’s Scholarship, plus Rowan Vincent.

Experienced team Total Control Racing (TCR) are mounting a two car assault with Scholarship finalist Tom Edgar and second year contender Will Rochford, while reigning Ginetta G40 Cup champions Assetto Motorsport enter the series with newcomer Joe Wheeler.

The entry for the opening rounds this weekend is completed by rookie class entrants Liam McNeilly (Fox Motorsport), Will Jenkins (Privateer) and Zak Taylor (Alistair Rushforth Motorsport), who contested three events last year.

Keep up-to-date with all the action this weekend on social media, @GinettaCars.


Weekend Timetable:

Saturday, August 1 – 09.05 to 09.20, Qualifying; 14.10, Race One; 16.35, Race Two

Sunday, August 2 – 14.10, Race Three (Live on ITV4)

Live timing and results: https://www.tsl-timing.com/event/203103


We'd love to show you all that Ginetta can offer.
Complete the form or contact us to get started.

+1 (434) 575-1257

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Newsletter Sign-up

Simply submit your info below to keep up to date with all things Ginetta.

Marketing Permissions

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.