Back to all news

Peter Dilnot Secures 2022 Ginetta G40 Cup Trophy Title

23rd October 2022 • Simon Paice

Peter Dilnot has been crowned the inaugural Ginetta G40 Cup Trophy champion after a fantastic first season for the class as part of the Britcar Trophy.

Introduced this year as a new home for the G40 Cup cars, the new class brought together a mix of returning drivers and new faces to compete in one-make Ginetta endurance racing for the first time.

Dilnot starred early in the season with back-to-back double victories at Snetterton and Silverstone National, and impressively only finished off the podium once all year as he secured the class honours by more than 70 points.

An impressive debut Ginetta campaign for Julian Daniel saw him secure the runners-up spoils with six podium finishes, while Tony Whitney completed the top three in the points after four visits to the rostrum, twice alongside fellow G40 Cup returnee Jez Sussex.

While Brenden Haffner only entered the second half of the season, he certainly made his mark as he won all six races he contested. The other two victories went the way of Richard Durham, who dominated the opening weekend back in March.


There was Ginetta success at the front of the Britcar Trophy grid as well, with former G40 Cup racers Mark Lee and Owen Hizzey (pictured) teaming up to win the Class 1 title in their SVG Motorsport prepared Ginetta G56 GTA.

Ever since scoring the first pole position and overall win of the season in the Silverstone opener, they were a consistent presence in the battle for silverware, scoring a total of four wins and nine podium finishes across the 12 race campaign.

There were a number of Ginetta G56’s challenging for top honours in Class 1, with at least one Ginetta crew finishing in the overall top three in each race. That group included Datum Motorsport’s Axel Van Nederveen and SVG Motorsport pairing Neil Wallace and Ian Astley, who each recorded five podium finishes to finish third and fourth in the Class 1 standings respectively.