Back to all news

Ginetta: 250 Races And Counting

18th June 2021 • Simon Paice

Ginetta is set for a landmark meeting at Brands Hatch next weekend, as both the Millers Oils Ginetta GT4 SuperCup and Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship reach special 250 race milestones.

Since it was launched in 2011 as the successor to the G50 Cup, the GT4 SuperCup has been contested over 249 races - meaning the opening encounter next weekend will be the big 250 for both the championship and the Ginetta G55 model.

As if that landmark wasn’t enough, a strange twist of fate has seen 249 be the magic number in the Juniors too, as it is the tally of races completed so far in the main championship since the Ginetta G40 was first introduced back in 2010.

In the tenth anniversary season of the GT4 SuperCup, it is perhaps fitting that the 250th race will happen on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit, the same place as the first race just over a decade prior. The winner that day was Tom Sharp, ahead of future champions Adam Morgan and Carl Breeze.

A total of 193 different drivers have competed in the championship so far, with two of those in particular showing immense loyalty to the series; Colin White and Reece Somerfield. Both have made more than 200 race starts in the series, a hit rate of over 80%.

No less than 39 drivers have gone on to secure an overall race victory, with 22 more gracing the other podium places along the way. It’s Breeze who has enjoyed the most success in the series, with record tallies of 29 race wins and 82 podium finishes.

In the Juniors meanwhile, over the past 11 years the Ginetta G40 has served as the first home for more than 170 young talents taking their initial steps on the motorsport ladder, including the likes of Lando Norris, Jamie Chadwick, Tom Ingram, Charlie Robertson and Harry King.

It was a fresh-faced Ingram who scored the first win in the G40 to kick off his title-winning campaign. Seb Morris, Robertson, Harry Woodhead, Jack Mitchell, Jamie Caroline, Will Tregurtha, Tom Gamble, Adam Smalley, James Hedley and Tom Lebbon have won titles in the G40 since.

58 different drivers have won Junior races in the car, with Caroline having the honour of scoring the most with 12 successes. A total of 93 have picked up overall podium finishes meanwhile, led by Woodhead who has 23 to his name; one ahead of Robertson and Daniel Harper.


Following a thrilling start to the 2021 TOCA season during the recent events at Thruxton and Snetterton, the action continues at Brands Hatch over the weekend of 26/27 June. Anticipation is building as to who will come out on top to win the landmark 250th races in each championship.