Back to all news

Preview: Ginetta Junior Championship, Rockingham

7th August 2018 • Ruth Harrison-Davies

Adam Smalley (Elite Motorsport) arrives at Rockingham at the head of the championship. The former Ginetta Junior Scholarship winner has arrived at each venue bar one leading the standings, but his title rivals Luke Browning (Richardson Racing) and Louis Foster (Elite Motorsport) are still within touching distance of the top.

Browning passed Foster for second in the points at Snetterton thanks to two wins and a second place, but with eight outright podiums for rookie championship leader Foster, expect to see him challenging at the sharp end this weekend.

Elsewhere in the championship top five, Patrick Kibble (TCR) continues to impress as second-placed rookie, having already taken three overall podiums, whilst his teammate Ruben Del Sarte picked up more silverware at Snetterton as he continues to chase his maiden win.

Current Ginetta Junior Scholar James Taylor (Richardson Racing) is third in the rookie standings and lies just outside the overall championship top five. He claimed his first outright podium at Croft and was knocking on the door of more silverware at Snetterton, so keep your eyes on his TJ Filters’ liveried G40 this weekend.

Just four and five points behind Taylor respectively are Fin Green and Greg Johnson (both Elite Motorsport). The pair have taken two podiums apiece this season, with Green celebrating his first win at Croft in June. Meanwhile, elsewhere in the top 10 James Hedley (Elite Motorsport) and Jonny Wilkinson (TCR) have looked very racy in previous rounds, with Hedley showcasing an immense recovery drive at Snetterton a fortnight ago.

Matt Luff (Richardson Racing) and Tom Emson (Elite Motorsport) equalled their best result of the season thus far last time out. Luff will be looking to close the gap to 10th in the championship standings, whilst Emson will continue to battle for points with close rival Will Martin, who joins the Richardson Racing team.

Completing the grid are entries from Douglas Motorsport's Lorcan Hanafin and Gustav Burton, Jamie Osborne (WDE) Conner Garlick (TCR), Ben O'Hare (Premiership Academy Racing) and Emily Linscott (Richardson Racing).

As one of the most exciting races on the BTCC support bill, make sure you keep up-to-date with all the action throughout the weekend via our social media feeds, TSL Timing (who also stream the circuit commentary from Saturday morning) and on ITV4 from 10:45 - 17:45 on Sunday 12 August.