Back to all news

Lights-To-Flag Silverstone SuperCup win for Ladell

15th September 2018 • Stephen Errity

Rob Boston Racing driver Charlie Ladell enjoyed an untroubled run to victory in Saturday’s Michelin Ginetta GT4 SuperCup race at Silverstone – the first of the weekend’s three encounters, with two and three following Sunday.

Ladell started from pole, held first position through the first corner and didn’t look back from there, however third-place qualifier and eventual second-place finisher Harry King ensured he couldn’t relax for a second. The Elite Motorsport driver made up a place off the grid and brought the gap to the lead down from 0.9s to 0.7s of over the course of the 16-lap early evening race, but couldn’t find a way past before the chequered flag.

Second-place qualifier Tom Roche (Rob Boston Racing) had a tough first lap that saw him wind up fifth, but the fightback commenced straight away and he was back up to fourth by lap two. He then set about a multi-lap pursuit of Carl Boardley up ahead, and his efforts were finally rewarded with a move up into third on lap 14 to complete the podium finishers.

King 01

Century Motorsport’s Andy Gordon-Colebrooke came home fifth, just ahead of Reece Somerfield and Century's Angus Fender, who, like Roche, had to make up a couple of positions after an early setback.

Carl Shield finished eight, while Jac Constable (Fix Auto Racing) ended up 15th and among the Am class runners after a spin at Copse.

Podium Race1 Zapolski Crees Minshaw 01

The Am class win went the way of Michael Crees (Century Motorsport), who caught and passed polesitter Jack Minshaw (Hart GT) on lap four, eventually finishing just half a second ahead of his rival. Butler Motorsport’s Lee Frost held third in the Am class from lights out until the penultimate lap, but Nick Zapolski (Hart GT) nipped into the final podium spot on the final lap.

Alex Taylor (Hart GT) and Colin White (CWS 4x4) were fifth and sixth, with Giles Dawson, David Brooks (Rob Boston Racing) and Lucky Khera (Butler Motorsport) the final classified runners.